Power station history on show
The Brunswick Valley Historical Society (BVHS) Museum has a new display, 'Lights On' showing photographs and a timeline of the construction of the weir, race and power station at Laverty's Gap, part of a larger regional display 'Rivers, Roads and Rail'.
The public are invited to discover the history of the Mullumbimby electric power station, from 1926 to 1989, at the museum this Saturday (Mullumbimby market day) from 10am to noon.
The display includes many historic photographs and artefacts from the site, and the morning includes the telling of some fascinating stories about the Hydro Electric Power Station, and the chance to ask questions
The BVHS Museum is located on the corner of Stuart and Myocum Streets, and regular opening hours are on Fridays 11am to 3pm and market Saturdays 9am to noon.
For more information contact the museum on 99909365.