Straddie Assault win

Members of the Byron Bay Boardriders team celebrate their Straddie Assault victory
Members of the Byron Bay Boardriders team celebrate their Straddie Assault victory

The Byron Bay Boardriders have won the prestigious Straddie Assault Team event held on the weekend at North Sradbroke Island.

The Straddie Assault has been going since 1984 and it is the first time a south of the border team has won the event. It is regarded as one of the toughest teams event inAustralia and has been dominated by Queensland club Snapper Rocks which has won 14 of the 20 events.

There were some awesome individual heats with Byron surfers dominating in the 4-5 feet trying conditions.

The Byron Bay Boardriders final heat tally was 5 wins, 2 thirds, 1 second.

Apart from winning the furst prize of $1500, club members also cleaned up in the specialty awards with Dayan Neve taking out best manoeuvre and Ellis Ericson the highest scoring junior.

The Team members: Team Manager Ben King: Judge Calin Hede: Opens DayanNeve ,Beau Walker, Craig Warton. Juniors: Jono Riorden, Raina Hede. Cadet:Ellis Ericson. ,Women: Carly Smith. Senior Mens: 'Rampaging' Lee Miller. Reserves: Jamie Nicholson, Kurt King, Kyle Pearson, Sally Miller.

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

EXCLUSIVE: Juanes, the Latin heartthrob coming to Bluesfest

ON STAGE: Juanes performs at the 2018 MusiCares Person of the Year tribute honoring Fleetwood Mac at Radio City Music Hall on in New York.

He has sold 15 million records and won 20 Latin Grammys

Helping out our Younger Heroes

HEROES: Damien Schofield with some of the attendees at the most recent Younger Heroes camp at Mount Warning

Yonger Heroes score bank award.

These Vampires live on jazz

MUSICIAN: Alex Boneham.

The Australian Music Prize nominated jazz-world band play this week

Local Partners