Angelina Jolie to receive humanitarian award

Angelina Jolie
Angelina Jolie Bang Showbiz

ANGELINA Jolie, Angela Lansbury, Steve Martin and Piero Tosi will each be honoured with a prize at the Academy's 5th Annual Governors Awards in November.

The 38-year-old actress will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian prize at the Academy's 5th Annual Governors Awards.

Angelina will be one of four stars - including Angela Lansbury, Steve Martin and Piero Tosi - to be recognised on November 16.

Her prize is presented "to an individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry" while Angela, Steve and Piero will received an Honorary Award "to honour extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy".

Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs said: "The Governors Awards pay tribute to individuals who've made indelible contributions in their respective fields."

She added they are "excited" to honour Angelina, Angela, Steve and Piero as they recongise their "extraordinary achievement".

She continued: "We couldn't be more excited for this year's honorees and look forward to bringing their peers and colleagues together to celebrate their extraordinary achievements."

Topics:  angelina jolie celebrities

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Mental health survey for our entertainers

SURVEY: Entertainment Assist is conducting research into mental health among people working in the industry.

Findings will be used to develop a prevention framework

Confirmed: Matt Damon is NOT moving to Byron Bay

HOLLYWOOD COUPLE: Matt Damon and Luciana Barroso arriving at the 88th Annual Academy Awards at Hollywood & Highland Center on February 28, 2016 in Hollywood, California.

But the town gained an unexpected US marketing campaign

Country Club becomes the centre of power

GENERATION: Nationals Parliamentary Secretary for Renewable Energy Ben Franklin, presenting the funding to the Club - General Manager Andrew Spice, Golf Director Ian Wingad, Chairman Peter Tomaros, Treasurer Anne Slater, and Director Tony Dahl.

Grant to Shore emergency centre

Local Partners